Obama’s Speech in Cairo

I got a phone call this morning around 9:30am from Washington D.C.  My contacts at Relief International: Schools Online and the State Department Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs wanted me to get on Skype to speak to youth from across Palestine to talk about Obama’s Speech in Cairo.  We spoke to these Palestinian youth for about an hour live fielding comments and questions.

They were generally positive.  Some of the old frustrations are still there of course but the dialogue is changing.  When Obama says he will open up opportunities for exchanges, I know that this is true because we are recipients of these exchanges.  When Obama talks about a student in Kansas talking online in real time to students in Cairo, it was happening between me in Utah and Palestinians in Ramallah almost as he spoke those words.

It’s working.  I believe things are changing.  We’re learning Arabic.  It’s exciting.

Watch the speech.

Leave a comment