International Baccalaureate

I just returned from a weekend training from International Baccalaureate (IB).  Provo High School is an International Baccalaureate World School.  Some of my Arabic classes are IB hence I am learning their curriculum and strategy.

I’m now ramping up courses, excited about the growing number of students who now have an option to learn on a larger global scale.  IB language students are built up, given lots of outlets to show their strengths and not penalized for specific shortcomings in language ability.

As someone who really loves studying and using languages, I always appreciate a chance to build confidence in a new language by focusing on strengths.  Long after a couple of my teachers gave up on me, I am still speaking and better than they might have imagined–it’s not always about speed.  That’s part of the message I want to convey to language students.

For more information see the International Baccalaureate website.  http://www.ibo.org/

Comments
One Response to “International Baccalaureate”
  1. holly says:

    You’re a super language learner. That hare didn’t win the race! =)

Leave a comment