Presenting

I was asked to present at today’s Utah Foreign Language Association conference about innovation in Arabic teaching.  I really need a lesson on how to get videos to play from Power Point without closing it and everything freezing? (In other words my big bang in the end wasn’t so big but that’s ok.)

Today made me reflect on my mentor, Dr. Lillian Fodermeier with whom I worked when I first started teaching.  I had absolutely no formal training, didn’t even know how to work an overhead projector.  She mentored me with her style: simple, no textbook, untraditional as possible.  With some hints from my mom and extended family, many of whom are teachers or professors, and a really patient student, Katelin, I began.

I am convinced over again, when I am watching a group of teachers, that if she hadn’t been my mentor and these others, I would have quit a long time ago.  I really prefer simplicity.

Comments
2 Responses to “Presenting”
  1. holly says:

    Audrey, I think lots of experiences that you have blogged about, specific units you facilitate, are FABULOUS ideas for teaching. Keep it up!

  2. llcall says:

    i’m with you on the technology learning needed…when i was teaching, i had to get neal to run things for me whenever i needed to use videos, etc.

    and i echo what holly says, you have a lot of innovative, creative ideas in your teaching…i’m glad you had a good mentor to guide you.

Leave a comment